Menu
Menu

Ksar el Khorbat

Ksar El Khorbat is located in the lower valley of Todgha, 50 kilometers east of Tinghir. Registered in the region's eco-tourism initiative, the old Ksar is now a tourist attraction with high potential. A part of the Ksar has been transformed into a museum, artisan studios, and a lodge that provides a one-of-a-kind experience: sleeping in bedrooms that have been cleverly blended into the real Ksar.

Aside from its socio-economic role, the initiative intends to use ecotourism to preserve the architectural and historical legacy symbolized by the Kasbahs.

A unique experience

The village has a unique lodging of its kind. Made up of four beautifully restored houses, the lodging has ten rooms, a pool, and relaxation and dining areas. All in an extremely clean and nicely arranged atmosphere. An out-of-the-ordinary lodge that promotes sustainable tourism while respecting the natural environment and local customs.

The village also has the Oasis Museum, which honors the local culture. It displays antiques and daily objects, picture collections, themed maps, historic plans and sketches, and works of art. The workshops are also worth a visit, where you can meet artisans and purchase unique products at reasonable costs. You may also put henna on your hands, following the local culture.

Discovery enthusiasts can explore Ferkla Oasis on foot or by mountain bike (VTT). The Ksar El Khorbat is also the ideal starting point for trips to several mythical places in the region: Todgha Gorges, Aghbalou n’Kerdous, Ghris Valley, and the Lalla Mimouna spring…

A typical well-preserved Ksar

Ksar El Khorbat is made out of mud. it is reached by an arcade-shaped doorway. It has a rectangular form that is crossed by a central street, from which various deadlocks are connected to the houses. The structures, which stand 14m in height, are composed of several floors with areas varying from 30 to 200m2. In addition to the regular public area, the Ksar has a mosque at the entrance. The entire structure is surrounded by a thick 12m high wall with 9 watchtowers.

Funded by the College of Technical Architects of Barcelona and various individual investors, El Khorbat Association for Heritage and Sustainable Development has been running the Ksar restoration initiative since 2002.

A great tailor-made weekendCultureExcursionFamilyHeritageHikingIn one dayInstagramKasbahMuseum

Useful information


Did you know?


The Arabic name of Ksar El Khorbat (the ruins) indicates that it was founded by the Bani Maaqil Arabs, who arrived in the region beginning of the 13th century. In reality, the Ksar, Ferkla Oasis’s center, has gone through countless changes since its existence.

Always a subject place of conflict between the tribes of Ait Atta and Ait Merghad, the political dominance of the Ksar declines with the establishment of Tinejdad city under the protectorate in 1934. The Ksar is regaining its vivacity due to the growing ecotourism there.

You will also like


Service providers



Gite les Jardins

Goulmima 06.54.49.11.16
Kasbat Arfoud

Zone touristique d'Errachidia route de Goulmima 05.35.57.01.10
Gite Akabar

CT Taous 06.62.19.12.50
05.35.57.84.73
Dar Poublanc

Ksar Hassi labiad CT de Taous 06.58.17.45.61
Maison Vallée Ziz

C.R Aoufous 06.61.53.31.93
Gite La Berberina

Ksar hart CT ghris el Ouloui Goulmima 06.61.55.87.98
05.35..88.56.93
La Rose du Desert

ksar mhiriguia Arfoud bp 294 06.17.54.11.0 76
Kasbah Said

Derkaoua commune rurale de Rissani 06.61.70.30.82
05.35.57.71.54
Riad Sadoq

Merzouga gharbia ct de Taous 06.61.21.61.07

Discover the guide to the Draa Tafilalet region

Visit Draa Tafilalet Logo Supported by ONMT Région Draa Région Ouarzazate

Quick links

Newsletter

Don't miss our monthly newsletter to get exclusive information and enjoy your stay in Drâa Tafilalet.

Copyright 2024 This site is managed by the regional tourism council of Draa Tafilalet

Menu
Menu

Ksar el Khorbat

Ksar El Khorbat se situe à 50 Km à l’est de Tinghir dans la basse vallée du Todgha. Le Ksar séculaire est aujourd’hui une attraction touristique à fort potentiel, qui s’inscrit dans le programme de l’écotourisme de la région. En effet, une partie du Ksar a été transformée en musée, ateliers d’artisanat et surtout en un gîte qui offre une expérience unique : passer la nuit dans des chambres ingénieusement intégrées dans le Ksar authentique.

Outre son rôle socio-économique, le projet a aussi pour objectif d’utiliser l’écotourisme pour préserver le patrimoine architectural et historique incarné par les Kasbahs.

Une expérience inédite

Le village abrite dans son enceinte un gîte unique dans son genre. Composé de 4 anciennes maisons du Ksar magnifiquement restaurées, le gîte El Khorbat dispose de 10 chambres, d’une piscine et d’espaces de détente et de restauration. Le tout dans un cadre parfaitement soigné et décoré avec raffinement. Une auberge extrêmement atypique qui propose un tourisme durable, respectueux de l’environnement naturel et des habitudes de la population.

Le village propose aussi le Musée des Oasis qui rend hommage à la culture locale. Il expose des antiquités et des objets usuels, des collections de photos, des cartes à thème, des plans et croquis anciens ainsi que des pièces d’art. A visiter aussi, les ateliers où on peut admirer les artisans à l’œuvre et acquérir des pièces uniques à des prix abordables. On peut aussi se faire plaisir en recevant un beau henné selon la tradition locale.

Les amoureux de la découverte peuvent partir en exploration à l’oasis Ferkla, à pied ou en VTT. Le Ksar El Khorbat est aussi le point de départ idéal pour des excursions vers plusieurs lieux mythiques de la région : Gorges de Todgha, Aghbalou n’Kerdous, Vallée de Ghris et la source de Lalla Mimouna…

Un Ksar typique bien conservé

Ksar El Khorbat, tout en pisé, est accessible par un portail en forme d’arcade. Sous forme rectangulaire, il est traversé de bout en bout par une rue centrale, d’où partent plusieurs impasses desservant les habitations. Atteignant les 14m de hauteur, les bâtisses se composent chacune de plusieurs niveaux, avec une superficie allant de 30 à 200m².  Le Ksar abrite aussi une mosquée près de l’entrée, ainsi que l’habituelle place publique. Le tout est protégé par un mur d’enceinte épais, haut de 12m et comprenant 9 tours de guet.

Depuis 2002, un programme de restauration du Ksar a été lancé par l’Association El Khorbat pour le Patrimoine et le Développement Durable, soutenue par le Collège des Architectes Techniques de Barcelone et plusieurs investisseurs privés.

CultureEn une journéeExcursionFamilleInstagramKasbahMuseePatrimoineRandonneeUn grand weekend sur mesure

Infos pratiques


Le saviez-vous?


Le nom arabophone du Ksar El Khorbat (les ruines) laisse croire qu’il a été initié par les Arabes Bani Maâqil, installés dans la région à partir du 13ème siècle. En fait, centre de gravité de l’oasis de Ferkla, le Ksar a connu plusieurs rebondissements au cours de son existence.

Lieu traditionnel de rivalité entre les tribus d’Aït Atta et d’Aït Merghad, la prévalence politique du Ksar s’estompe par la fondation de la ville de Tinejdad en 1934 sous le protectorat en 1934.  Le Ksar est entrain de retrouver son éclat grâce à l’écotourisme qui s’y développe.

Vous aimerez aussi


Prestataires de services



Hotel ElFikri

Errachidia 06.62.22.77.72
Gite El Khourbat

CR Ferkla ElOulia Ksar El Khourbat Tinejdad 05.35.88.03.55
Maison Merzouga

Hassi Labiad Merzouga 06.61.25.46.58
Hotel El Ati

Route Rissani BP. 188 Erfoud 05.35.57.73.73
0.35.57.74.01
Hotel Palm’s Club

Route de Rissani B.P 70 Erfoud 05 35 57 61 44/45
Dar Ouzine

Ksar Hassi labiad CTde Taous 06.72.38.16.51
Kasbah Jurassique

Gorge du Ziz Tammarrakcht B.P N° 520 Boutalamine Errachidia 05.35.58.99.12
Auberge Panorama

Centre Merzouga 06.61.05.67.21

Découvrez le guide de la région Draa Tafilalet

Visit Draa Tafilalet Logo Supported by ONMT

Liens rapides

Newsletter

Restez informés de l'actualité touristique à Drâa Tafilalet

Copyright 2022 Ce site est géré par Le Conseil Régional du Tourisme Draa Tafilalet