Menu
Menu

Sijilmassa

The city of Sijilmassa, gateway to the desert and one of the first settlements of Islamic Morocco, was for centuries an important trans-Saharan trading station, and a fascinating town that has made many historians and archaeologists of various backgrounds write about it.

Sijilmassa was an important stopover for trans-Saharan trade during its glory. It had numerous kasbahs: the main one housed the emir’s residence, the big mosque, a massive trade market, and a mint for producing coins.

Buried under the ground, only a few ruins of this great city exist today. However, its spirit, culture, and tradition will live on in the memory of Tafilalet and Maghrib Al Aqsa.

The Advanced City

In 757–58 the Zenet tribe of Meknassa, under the rule of Abu al-Kassim Samgou Ibn Wassolo Miknassi called Midrar Ben Abdellah, established Sijilmassa and its Kharijite State in the left bank of Oued Ziz. The city afterward attracted people of the surrounding area and and grew through time into a political capital and a flourishing intersection of traders from many areas. Concerned by the increasing regional powers of that era, such as Kairouan’s authority under the Abbasid caliphate, the Almoravids finally seized Sijilmassa in 1055, putting an end to his emirate, and thus controlling the famous gold road of Bilad Soudan. Due to the golden quality of the Almoravid dinar, it was the most wanted coin on both shores of the Mediterranean.

The city, which was created before Baghdad and was the capital of the Abbasids (706), alongside Fez, the capital of the Idrissids (808), would lose influence over the centuries due to the region’s political instability and the development of sea lanes and new roads. Although it has surrendered by the end of the 14th century, its monuments were destroyed, and its inhabitants were dispersed from the ksours, the region was still used as a point of departure for Morocco’s reunification in the modern era under the Alawite sheriffs, particularly under the leadership of Sultan Moulay Rachid (1664-1672), and that after a long period of anarchy.

A mysterious archeological site

The Sijilmassa site extends between Rissani city and Oued Ziz over a hundred hectares. Sijilmassa has been rebuilt multiple times throughout the centuries, which has left the fallen remants of mud walls. Since 1973, several archaeological studies have attempted to explain the secrets that surround this yet splendid, but enigmatic past.

The site is open to visitors, and the High Royal Instructions have launched a program for the protection and improvement of its archeological and historical heritage.

A great tailor-made weekendFamilyHeritageIn one dayInstagram

Useful information


Did you know?


At its peak, the city of Sijilmassa was an international trading town. This is confirmed by the great explorer Ibn Battuta, who claims to have met Sijilmassians during his voyage to Mongolian Yuan in China. In the story of his Rihla, he devoted an entire chapter to this city.

Ibn Battûta has spent some time in Sijilmass during his voyage to Bilad Sudan in 1352, which he described as metropolitan radiation. He also emphasizes its resemblance to Basra, the Iraqi city, notably in terms of dates’ quantity, while underlining that Sijilmassa’s are much better. He continues his journey to Timbuktu in 1353 with a multinational commercial caravan.

You will also like


Service providers



Gite Dar UL

Tamarkite Aoufous 06.68.15.85.53
Ziz Palace

C.R de Beni M'Hamed Sijilmassa, Rissani 06.61.23.88.27
Riad Madu

Hassi labiad Merzouga 05.35.57.87.40
Auberge Amellagou

Ksar ait bouizem amellagou 06.73.46.40.93
Hotel by Chateau du Sable

Km 8 , route d'Errachidia Erfoud 06.23.20.65.82
Marhaba Merzouga

CT Taous Hassi labied
Hotel ElFikri

Errachidia 06.62.22.77.72
Muxu Bérbère

Ksar El Khrbat 05.35.88.09.15
Riad Mamouche

Hassi labiad Merzouga 06.66.66.21.10

Discover the guide to the Draa Tafilalet region

Visit Draa Tafilalet Logo Supported by ONMT Région Draa Région Ouarzazate

Quick links

Newsletter

Don't miss our monthly newsletter to get exclusive information and enjoy your stay in Drâa Tafilalet.

Copyright 2024 This site is managed by the regional tourism council of Draa Tafilalet

Menu
Menu

Sijilmassa

Porte du désert et une des premières cités du Maroc islamique, la ville de Sijilmassa fût pendant des siècles une station incontournable du négoce transsaharien, et une cité resplendissante qui a fait couler beaucoup d’encre chez les historiens et les archéologues d’origines diverses.

Du temps de sa splendeur, Sijilmassa était une escale incontournable du négoce transsaharien. Elle englobait plusieurs kasbahs dont la principale abritait le palais de l’émir, la grande mosquée, un immense marché de négociants, et des ateliers de frappe monétaire.

Aujourd’hui, il ne reste que quelques vestiges de cette grande cité, ensevelie sous le sol. Mais son esprit, sa culture et son héritage resteront à jamais gravés dans les mémoires du Tafilalet et du Maghrib Al Aqsa.

La Cité avant-gardiste

En 757-758, la tribu zénète des Meknassas fonde Sijilmassa et son État Kharijite sur la rive gauche de Oued Ziz, sous l’autorité de Abou al-Kassim Samgou Ibn Wassoul al Miknassi surnommé Midrar Ben Abdellah. La cité attire alors les populations des environs, et se transforme au fil du temps en capitale politique et en un carrefour florissant, où se croisent des négociants de diverses contrées. Convoitée par les puissances régionales émergentes de l’époque comme l’autorité de Kairouan relevant du Califat Abbaside, Sijilmassa est finalement conquise en 1055 par les Almoravides, qui mettent fin à son émirat et contrôlent ainsi la grande route de l’or de Bilad Soudane. Le dinar Almoravide devient la monnaie la plus briguée sur les deux rives de Méditerranée vu sa nature en or.

La cité, qui a vu sa naissance avant Bagdad, capitale des Abbasides (706) et Fès, capitale des Idrissides (808), va perdre de son importance au fil des siècles, notamment en raison de l’instabilité politique de la région, et du développement des voies maritimes et de nouvelles routes terrestres. Elle succombe finalement à la fin du 14ème siècle, ses monuments sont détruits et ses habitants dispersés dans les ksours, mais sa région servira de base de départ pour la réunification du Maroc à l’ère moderne sous les Chérifs alaouites, et surtout sous la houlette du sultan Moulay Rachid (1664-1672), et ce après une longue période d’anarchie.

Un site archéologique énigmatique

Le site de Sijilmassa s’étend sur une centaine d’hectares entre la ville de Rissani et Oued Ziz. Au fil des siècles, Sijilmassa a été reconstruite plusieurs fois et les murs de pisé effondrés ne laissent que des monticules difficiles à lire. Plusieurs recherches archéologiques tentent depuis 1973 de percer les mystères qui n’ont cessé d’entourer ce passé aussi glorieux qu’énigmatique.

Le site est ouvert à la visite, et un programme de sauvegarde et de valorisation de ce patrimoine archéologique et historique est lancé sous les Hautes Instructions Royales.

En une journéeFamilleInstagramPatrimoineUn grand weekend sur mesure

Infos pratiques


Le saviez-vous?


A son apogée, la cité de Sijilmassa est devenue une place de commerce de niveau international. C’est ce qu’atteste le célèbre explorateur Ibn Battûta, qui affirme avoir rencontré des Sijilmassiens lors de son voyage en Chine mongole des Yuan. Il consacre d’ailleurs tout un chapitre à la cité dans le récit de sa Rihla.

En effet pendant son périple vers Bilad Soudan en 1352, Ibn Battûta séjourna quelques temps à Sijilmassa qu’il décrit comme une métropole rayonnante. Il invoque aussi sa ressemblance avec la ville de Bassorah en Irak, notamment en ce qui concerne l’abondance des dattes, tout en précisant que celles de Sijilmassa sont meilleures. Au commencement de 1353, il continua sa route vers Tombouctou en embarquant avec une caravane commerciale multinationale.

Vous aimerez aussi


Prestataires de services



Chez Salmi

Av. Mly Ismail BP.63 Erfoud 05.35.57.81.11
06.61.56.38.05
Kanz Erremal

Taous Hassi labied PB 12 Merzouga 05.35.57.84.82
06.66.03.91.78
Auberge Panorama

Centre Merzouga 06.61.05.67.21
Gite El Khourbat

CR Ferkla ElOulia Ksar El Khourbat Tinejdad 05.35.88.03.55
Luna Del Fuego

ksar Tasmaalte CT el kheng 06.66.53.77.06
Kasbah Tombouctou

ksar Hassi labied Merzouga B.P 205 Erfoud 05.35.57.70.91
Camping Tifina

CT Aarab sebbah ziz à la sortie d'Arfoud vers Rissani 06.62.76.13.43
Ksar Assalassil

Ksar L'haine Arfoud 05.35.57.82.27
06.65.88.97.75

Découvrez le guide de la région Draa Tafilalet

Visit Draa Tafilalet Logo Supported by ONMT Région Draa Région Ouarzazate

Liens rapides

Newsletter

Restez informés de l'actualité touristique à Drâa Tafilalet

Copyright 2024 Ce site est géré par Le Conseil Régional du Tourisme Draa Tafilalet