Menu
Menu

Ksar Tissergate

Draa’s emblematic Ksar

Ksar Tissergate



Located a few kilometers from Zagora, Ksar Tissergate dates back five centuries. The Ksar and its Draa Valley Museum of Arts and Culture, which was restored in 1968, are well worth visiting!

Ksar Tissergate

Draa’s emblematic Ksar


Ksar Tissergate was built in the 16th century that still inhabits Moroccan families. It is one of the most impressive and well-preserved Ksours in the entire south of Morocco. The ochre-colored Ksar dominates the low cultivable soils at the valley’s edge. The ksar has a single entrance door that was previously guarded and closed every evening, houses lined up along a main road, granaries, an open section to the outside reserved for visitors, and a section reserved for women, open to the inside.

You can experience thermal ventilation, which is perfect for the hot summer weather, through the kasbah’s labyrinth of narrow, largely covered, and dark alleys. The houses are all constructed in the same style. Light is kept to a minimum anywhere to protect against the sun’s rays. This will undoubtedly inspire modern architects!

Draa Valley’s Museum of Arts and Culture

In the Ksar, there is a museum dedicated to the Draa Valley’s arts and culture. It is made up of old houses and narrow streets that are shaded by the sun. This museum is well worth visiting.

This unique museum in the Draa Valley is located in an old Ksar Tissergate house. It documents the traditional way of life of the Berber and Tuareg communities of the Draa Valley region, as well as presenting different characteristics of this pre-dessert region.

When you first walk into the museum, you’ll find a series of themed rooms, including the most famous display of traditional jewelry with geometric or floral motifs. Other rooms outline the tools that are used on a daily basis, such as farming material for the fields or irrigation. These tools were used collectively to keep the irrigation channels (seguia) in good condition.

The Draa Valley’s traditional outfit has its own distinct characteristics. In another room, you will discover the traditional costume worn by the locals, which preserves the traces of the different civilizations who lived in the province of Zagora. The men’s official costume includes a Darraa, a type of gandoura, and a feroual, a fine fabric ribbon is worn as a headdress. The perfect outfit for winter is the burnous, heavy woolen cloth with a hood. An izar or malhfa, a long cloth kept at chest level by two wide silver fibulas and belted at the waist, completely covers women. The traditional dress of the Draa Valley has its own characteristics in terms of costume, style, texture, and fabric.

Consider taking a guided tour of the Draa Valley Museum of Arts and Traditions. The guide will take you on a tour full of fascinating souvenirs. The museum is an excellent initiative to learn all about the tribes that once lived here.

A great tailor-made weekendArts and CraftsHeritageIn one dayKasbahMuseumOasis

Useful information


Did you know?


Don’t be surprised if you see kids playing hopscotch, jacks, marbles, bungee jumping, or even balloons in the streets of the village. This will bring back memories from your childhood!

You will also like


Service providers



Le Sauvage Noble

Ternata 05.24.83.80.72
DromBlan

M'Hamid 05.24.84.68.52
Riad Ksar Malal

Ternata 05.24.84.83.30
Chez Ali

Zagora 05.24.84.62.58
Kasbah Sirocco

Zagora 05.24.84.61.25
Ma Bonne toile

M'Hamid 05.24.84.84.98
Hotel Reda S.D.A.T

Zagora 05.24.84.70.79
Palais Asma

Zagora 05.24.84.75.55
07.67.33.65.16
Sahara Sky

Tamghroute 05.24.84.85.62
La Petite Kasbah

Zagora 05.24.84.80.43

Discover the guide to the Draa Tafilalet region

Visit Draa Tafilalet Logo Supported by ONMT Région Draa Région Ouarzazate

Quick links

Newsletter

Don't miss our monthly newsletter to get exclusive information and enjoy your stay in Drâa Tafilalet.

Copyright 2024 This site is managed by the regional tourism council of Draa Tafilalet

Menu
Menu

Ksar Tissergate

Le ksar emblématique du Drâa

Ksar Tissergate



Le Ksar de Tissergate se trouve à quelques kilomètres de Zagora et daterait de cinq siècles. Restauré en 1968, le Ksar et son musée des arts et traditions de la vallée du Drâa valent la visite !

Ksar Tissergate

Le ksar emblématique du Drâa


Ancien édifice construit au 16ème siècle et encore occupé par des familles marocaines, le Ksar Tissergate est l’un des ksour les plus spectaculaires et les mieux conservés de l’ensemble du sud marocain. Situé en bordure de la vallée, le Ksar au ton ocre, domine les basses terrasses cultivables. Doté d’une seule porte d’entrée, jadis gardée et fermée tous les soirs, le ksar abrite des maisons alignées le long d’un axe principal et des greniers et comporte une partie réservée aux invités, ouverte vers l’extérieur, et d’une partie réservée aux femmes, ouverte vers l’intérieur.

A travers son dédale de ruelles étroites, souvent couvertes et sombres, vous constaterez à quel point la ventilation thermique fonctionne et comment elles semblent appropriées aux grandes chaleurs de l’été. Les habitations ont toutes une structure similaire. Partout la lumière est réduite au minimum pour se protéger des excès du soleil. Les architectes modernes qui bâtissent de larges avenues devraient s’en inspirer !

Le musée des arts et traditions de la vallée du Drâa 

Le musée des arts et traditions de la vallée du Drâa est installé dans le Ksar. Constitué d’anciennes maisons et parcouru de ruelles étroites et couvertes afin de préserver les passants des assauts du soleil, la promenade hors du temps qui mène au musée vaut à elle seule le détour.

Aménagé dans une ancienne maison du Ksar Tissergate, ce musée unique dans la vallée du Drâa retrace le mode de vie traditionnelle des populations berbères et touaregs de la région de la vallée du Drâa et présente différentes caractéristiques de cette région pré-désertique. 

En entrant dans le musée, vous découvrirez une succession de salles thématiques telle que l’exposition des bijoux traditionnels aux motifs géométriques ou floraux, très prisés par les visiteurs. D’autres salles vous détailleront les ustensiles de la vie quotidienne comme le matériel agricole pour travailler les champs ou les techniques utilisées pour irriguer les sols, collectivement gérés, pour entretenir les canaux d’irrigation (séguia).

Une autre salle vous présentera le costume traditionnel que portait la population locale et qui a su conserver les traces des civilisations qui se sont succédées dans la province de Zagora. L’habit traditionnel de la vallée du Drâa présente des particularités qui lui sont propres. Le costume officiel des hommes se compose d’une Darrâa, sorte de gandoura et d’un feroual, ruban en tissu fin servant de coiffe. En hiver, le burnous, drap en laine épais soigneusement tissé pourvu d’un capuchon, constitue l’habit par excellence. La femme se couvre entièrement d’un izar ou malhfa, longue étoffe maintenue à hauteur de la poitrine pas deux grosses fibules en argent et ceinturée à la taille. Costume, dessin, texture, étoffe… l’habit traditionnel de la vallée du Drâa présente des particularités qui lui sont propres.

Si les différents objets exposés sont bien annotés, une visite avec un guide vous apportera le supplément d’âme qui vous permettra de repartir avec un très bon souvenir du Musée des Arts et Traditions de la Vallée du Drâa. Une belle initiative pour mieux découvrir et comprendre les tribus qui vivaient ici.

ArtisanatEn une journéeKasbahMuseeOasisPatrimoineUn grand weekend sur mesure

Infos pratiques


Le saviez-vous?


Ne soyez pas étonnés de rencontrer les enfants du voisinage jouer encore à la marelle, aux osselets, aux billes, à l’élastique, au saut à la corde ou encore au ballon entre ombre et lumière dans une des ruelles du village. Pour les plus nostalgiques des souvenirs d’enfance !

Vous aimerez aussi


Prestataires de services


Découvrez le guide de la région Draa Tafilalet

Visit Draa Tafilalet Logo Supported by ONMT

Liens rapides

Newsletter

Restez informés de l'actualité touristique à Drâa Tafilalet

Copyright 2022 Ce site est géré par Le Conseil Régional du Tourisme Draa Tafilalet