Menu
Menu

Ten Must-try dishes in Zagora

Ten Must-try dishes in Zagora



Sand bread: the sand bread is kneaded by hand and then cooked in sand heated to 50° by hot stones or burning palm leaves. 

Dhen: This bread spread is prepared with goat butter, salt, onions and rosemary. It can be stored for a long time. 

Date syrup: Called Eroub by the nomads, it is made from dates that are cooked for a long time in a container with water until a syrup is formed. It is then drained to remove the remaining lumps. At the base, this product is a purely nomadic creation that became famous after its recovery by the cooperatives of the region. The date syrup is consumed with bread.   

Bouleghman: this snack is made of wheat or barley that is toasted in a large pan with sand. This wheat is then cleaned of its sand and ground. To transform it into Boulghman, this ground wheat is dissolved in hot water and Dhen (spread) or olive oil. This very nourishing food is eaten by nomads in the morning or evening and carried in their travel bags.  

Camel milk: This milk has an amazing characteristic. In addition to its benefits and its nourishing virtues (proved to be a superfood rich in proteins and vitamins C, iron… by the FAO), it is sweet and is perfectly adapted to asthmatics when the camel is one year old. On the other hand, it becomes salty and ideal for diabetics as soon as the camel is more than 2 years old. It can be obtained directly from the camel breeders of the nomadic tribes.

Klila: This nomadic dish is prepared from surplus camel milk. After it has been boiled, the milk is drained and the rest is collected. After it cools down, the nomads mix the remaining pieces with hard crushed dates. This preparation is called Klila.  

Zennaba: this meat dish is prepared after the ritual of slaughtering the sheep or goat. The nomads recover the offal which is cleaned and stuffed with meat. It is buried in heated coals and sand and cooked with a piece of broken bone put in the opening of the offal. Only the bone appears in this pile of embers allowing the meat to steam for about 2 hours.

Dromedary Tajine with dates : This festive dish originating from zagora is available in the desert areas more in summer than in winter due to a higher demand and a more frequent slaughter. A dromedary male can give up to 200 kg of meat prepared at the time of slaughter, as it cannot be preserved in the freezer.

Stuffed Pigeons : This is one of the most requested dishes by visitors to the Draa tafilalet region, especially in Zagora, the province of origin of this refined dish. These pigeons stuffed with meat or vegetables and angel hair require a fairly long preparation time. It takes 4 hours of preparation before tasting this refined dish reserved for special occasions. Pigeons are usually raised in a traditional way by the locals.

Aghroum Ntoudount or Bread with camel fat or Beef kidney fat : This bread is covered with a mixture of camel fat ( the most common camelied in the region ) or beef kidney fat. Other ingredients such as peppers, onions and spices are added and it is eaten in the morning for breakfast.

Gastronomy

You will also like


Discover the guide to the Draa Tafilalet region

Visit Draa Tafilalet Logo Supported by ONMT

Quick links

Newsletter

Don't miss our monthly newsletter to get exclusive information and enjoy your stay in Drâa Tafilalet.

Copyright 2022 This site is managed by the regional tourism council of Draa Tafilalet

Actualités

Ouarzazate : Promotion du tourisme à Drâa-Tafilalet

Une rencontre sur le développement et la promotion du secteur […]

Le tourisme de niche à la rescousse dans les ergs de Merzouga

Entre Erfoud et Rissani, se trouve un réseau d’oasis d’une […]

Menu
Menu

Dix plats que vous devez absolument goûter à Zagora

Dix plats que vous devez absolument goûter à Zagora



Pain de sable : le pain de sable est pétri à la main et cuit ensuite dans le sable réchauffé à 50° par des pierres chaudes ou des feuilles de palmiers incandescentes. 

Le Dhen : Cette pâte à tartiner pour le pain est préparée à base de beurre de chèvre, de sel, d’oignons et de romarin. Elle se conserve longtemps. 

Sirop de datte : appelé Erroub par les nomades, il est fabriqué à base de dattes qu’on cuit longtemps dans un récipient avec de l’eau jusqu’à obtenir un liquide. Il est ensuite égoutté pour enlever le reste de grumeaux. À la base, ce produit est une création purement nomade devenue célèbre après sa production dans les coopératives de la région. Le sirop de datte est consommé avec du pain.   

Bouleghman : cet encas est composé de blé ou d’orge qu’on fait griller dans une grande poêle avec du sable. Ce blé est ensuite nettoyé de son sable puis moulu. Pour le transformer en Boulghman, le blé moulu est dissout dans de l’eau chaude et du Dhen (pâte à tartiner) ou de l’huile d’olive. Ce mets très nourrissant est consommé par les nomades le matin ou le soir et emporté dans leur sac de voyage.  

Le lait de chamelle : Ce lait a une particularité étonnante. En plus de ses bienfaits et de ses vertus nourrissantes (super aliment riche en protéines et en vitamines C, fer…), il est sucré et s’adapte parfaitement aux asthmatiques s’il provient d’une chamelle âgée d’un an. Par contre, il devient salé et idéal pour les diabétiques dès que la chamelle dépasse les deux ans. On peut le boire directement chez les éleveurs de dromadaires nomades. 

La Klila : Ce mets des nomades est préparé à partir de surplus de petit lait de chamelle. Après ébullition, le lait est égoutté et le reste est récupéré. Après refroidissement, les nomades mélangent les morceaux restants à des dattes dures et concassées. 

Zennaba : ce plat de viande est préparé après le rituel d’abattage du mouton ou de la chèvre. Les nomades récupèrent l’abat qui sera nettoyé et fourré de viande. Il est enfoui dans la braise et le sable chauffés et cuit à l’aide d’un bout d’os cassé mis dans l’orifice de l’abat. Seul l’os apparaît dans cet amas de braise permettant à la viande de cuire à la vapeur pendant environ 2 h. 

Tajine de dromadaire aux dattes : ce plat de fête originaire de Zagora est disponible dans les zones désertiques plus en été qu’en hiver poussé par une demande plus forte et un abattage plus fréquent. Un mâle de dromadaire peut donner jusqu’à 200 kg de viande préparée au moment de l’abattage, car impossible à conserver au congélateur. 

Les pigeons farcis : c’est l’un des plats les plus demandés par les visiteurs de la région Drâa Tafilalet notamment à Zagora, province d’origine de ce plat raffiné. Ces pigeons farcis à la viande ou aux légumes et cheveux d’ange nécessitent un temps de préparation assez long. Il faut compter 4h de préparation avant de déguster ce plat raffiné réservé aux grandes occasions. Les pigeons sont généralement élevés de manière traditionnelle chez les habitants.

Aghroum Ntoudount ou Pain à la graisse de dromadaire ou à la graisse de rognons de bœuf : ce pain est badigeonné d’un mélange de graisse de dromadaire (camélidé le plus fréquent dans la région) ou de graisse de rognons de bœuf. On y ajoute d’autres ingrédients tels que les poivrons, les oignons et les épices, consommés le matin au petit déjeuner. 

Gastronomie

Vous aimerez aussi


Découvrez le guide de la région Draa Tafilalet

Visit Draa Tafilalet Logo

Liens rapides

Newsletter

Restez informés de l'actualité touristique à Drâa Tafilalet

Copyright 2022 Ce site est géré par Le Conseil Régional du Tourisme Draa Tafilalet