Menu
Menu

Ighil M’Goun

Ighil M'Goun belongs to the unique mountain massifs higher than 4000m in altitude in Morocco. Unlike the other mountains, climbing it is easy, making it a hiking delight. This massif, with a peak that reaches 4071m, is located at the crossroads of the High Atlas and the Pre-Sahara. The mountain offers amazing landscapes, as well as a variety of sites to visit, particularly during the months of April and October.

With significant ecological significance, it is at the focus of the region’s new ecotourism initiative, besides the Irqui National Park and Ksar El Khorbat, and other sites.

A once-in-a-lifetime trip, the beauty of the landscapes and interactions with people there, will remain within the memories of explorers forever.

Cultural and ecological heritage

The landscape of the foothills of Ighil M’Goun is unexpectedly diverse, filled with beautiful greenery and rocky stones formed by Ighil M’Goun’s river. Assif M’Goun, which rises from the center of the mountains, irrigates gorgeous and fertile valleys filled with kasbahs, collective granaries, and archaeological sites.

Hikers will find limestone massifs while climbing the trails, where erosion has sculpted stunning gorges with orangish cliffs. Once at the summit, climbers can enjoy a panoramic view of the entire High-Atlas, including the Valley of Roses, the Jbel Saghro, the Dades Gorges, as well as wide desert-like regions further south.

Ighil M’Goun is a million-year-old geological and ecological site that, together with the Valley of Roses, forms the M’Goun Geopark, which is also recognized by UNESCO.

A sensational climb

Just like Jbel Ayachi, Ighil M’Goun provides a variety of levels of adventure, ranging from short hikes to multi-day treks to the summit.

This mountain is a high trekking site that offers enjoyable and accessible hikes to a large public. It takes at least four days of walking to reach the peak, covering 1180m and a vertical descent of 1470m. The most popular route is a tour that begins in the Ait Bouguemez Valley on the Atlas’s northern side. The presence of mountain guides is necessary and required.

The massif’s summit is permanently covered with snow and runs for a few kilometers under the form of a rocky hill. Its northern part includes valleys formed during the Late Pleistocene, making it a unique natural wonder. Thus, the place turns out to be the top destination for adventure seekers, who may even practice alpine skiing outside of the fields.

A great tailor-made weekendExcursionFamilyHikingIn one dayNature

Useful information


Did you know?


It is normal to come across camels at an altitude of 3000m while trekking over the Ighil M’Goun mountains! Several nomadic tribes, such the Ait Atta, proudly maintain transhumance between the desert and the High Atlas.

During the summer, these nomads seek refuge with their goats, sheep, and camels in the highs, as well as the hills, the valleys, and the foothills, to take advantage of the rich grasses and escape the desert’s intense heat. When winter hits, they return to the Draa Valley, where the weather is warmer.

Meeting the kind and friendly locals is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to learn about unique culture and an old lifestyle.

You will also like


Service providers



Kasbah Ait Kassi

Souk Lakhmiss Dades 06.70.40.42.40
Aflafal

Av, Med V Kelaat M’gouna 0524.83.68.00
Tamaloute

Boutaghrar Ighil N'mgoun 670220723
Tamassinte

3km Sortie Vers Errachidia Province Tinghir 05.24.83.50.17
Gite Mohamed Ait Said

Ait Tazarine Cr Ait Sedrat Sahl El Gharbia
Dar Bab Todra

Douar Taourirte Km 2 Route Gorges Du Todra Tinghir 05.24.83.46.98
06.71.44.39.79
Kasbah Tasseurte

Douar Ait Khiar Cr Ait Ouassif Kelaat M'gouna Tinghir 05.24.89.12.34
06.62.56.91.01
Mandar

Douar Tazakht Kelaat M’gouna 05.24.83.66.89
Saghro

Centre De Tinghr 05.24.83.41.81
Kasbah Des Montagnes

Boutaghrar Ct Ighil N'oumgoune Kelaat Mgouna Tinghir 06.70.83.16.00

Discover the guide to the Draa Tafilalet region

Visit Draa Tafilalet Logo Supported by ONMT Région Draa Région Ouarzazate

Quick links

Newsletter

Don't miss our monthly newsletter to get exclusive information and enjoy your stay in Drâa Tafilalet.

Copyright 2024 This site is managed by the regional tourism council of Draa Tafilalet

Menu
Menu

Ighil M’Goun

Ighil M’Goun fait partie du club très exclusif des massifs à plus de 4000m d’altitude au Maroc. Son ascension est très praticable, contrairement à celle d’autres massifs, faisant de lui un paradis pour les randonneurs. Culminant à 4071m, ce massif se trouve à la jonction du Haut Atlas et du Présahara, offrant des paysages inouïs, ainsi qu’une panoplie d’endroits à visiter, idéalement entre les mois d’avril et octobre.

Il revêt aussi une importance écologique majeure, le plaçant au cœur du programme de l’Ecotourisme lancé dans la région, au côté du Parc National d’Irqui et de Ksar El Khorbat, entre autres.

Un voyage sans pareil, tant l’empreinte des paysages et des rencontres restera gravée à jamais dans la mémoire des explorateurs.

Patrimoine culturel et écologique

Aux contreforts d’Ighil M’goun, le paysage est d’une étonnante diversité, où se succèdent verdures et parois rocheuses dénudées, creusées par la rivière du même nom. Prenant source au cœur du massif, Assif M’goun irrigue de magnifiques et fertiles vallées, riches en kasbahs, greniers collectifs et sites archéologiques.

En escalandant les sentiers, les randonneurs découvriront des massifs calcaires, où l’érosion a gravé de belles gorges aux parois orangés. Arrivés au sommet, les aventuriers peuvent profiter d’une vue panoramique sur l’ensemble du Haut-Atlas, la Vallée des Roses, le Jbel Saghro, les Gorges du Dadès, tandis que loin vers le sud, s’étendent de vastes étendues quasi désertiques.

Site géologique et écologique exceptionnel, vieux de plusieurs millions d’années, Ighil M’goun constitue, au côté de la Vallée des Roses, le Géo-parc de M’Goun labellisé également par l’UNESCO.

Une ascension sensationnelle

A l’instar de son cousin Jbel Ayachi, Ighil M’Goun offre plusieurs niveaux d’exploration, allant des circuits de randonnées de quelques heures, aux treks pour l’ascension du sommet en plusieurs jours.

Haut lieu du trekking, ce massif permet des escalades agréables et accessibles à un large public. L’ascension de son sommet exige au moins 4 jours de marche, pour parcourir les 1180m et un dénivelé de 1470m. L’itinéraire le plus pratiqué est une boucle qui part de la Vallée d’Aït Bouguemez sur le versant nord de l’Atlas. L’apport des guides de montage ici est primordial et nécessaire.

Sous forme de crête rocheuse, la cime du massif est durablement enneigée et s’étire sur une dizaine de kilomètres. Sa paroi nord quant à elle abrite des combes creusées lors de la dernière période glaciale, constituant ainsi une curiosité naturelle singulière. Le site s’avère être dans ce cas un paradis pour les amateurs de sensations fortes, qui peuvent même y pratiquer du ski alpin hors champs.

En une journéeExcursionFamilleNatureRandonneeUn grand weekend sur mesure

Infos pratiques


Le saviez-vous?


En parcourant le massif d’Ighil M’goun, il n’est pas rare de rencontrer des chameaux à 3000m d’altitude ! En effet, plusieurs tribus nomades, dont celle d’Aït Atta, perpétuent fièrement la transhumance entre désert et Haut-Atlas.

En été, ces nomades s’abritent avec leurs troupeaux composés de chèvres, moutons et chameaux, dans le haut pays et les collines et vallons le haut pays et du piémont, afin de profiter des riches pâturages et fuir la forte chaleur du désert.  L’hiver arrivé, ils redescendent dans la vallée du Drâa où le climat est plus clément.

La rencontre avec les habitants de la région, connus pour leur hospitalité, est une occasion rêvée pour découvrir une culture authentique et un mode de vie ancestral.

Vous aimerez aussi


Prestataires de services



Dar Timitar

Douar Agoulzi Cr Ait Ouassif Kelaat M'gouna Tinghir 06.68.16.73.19
Le Jardin De La Source

Douar Ibriren Cr Ait Youl Boumalen Dades Tinghir 06.70.01.90.30
Kasbah Iswan

Tazroute Ait Ouassif Kelaat Mgouna 06.58.96.28.85
Ksar Kaissar

Km 2 Route Boumal Dades Kelaat M'gouna 05 24.83.67.76
Miguirne

Douar Sidi Boubker Cr Ait Sedrate Jbel Soufla Tinghir 06.68.76.38.04
Kasbah Agoulzi

Douar Agoulzi Cr Ait Ouassif Kelaat M'gouna Tinghir 06.18.26.78.95
Todgha

Centre De Tinghir 05.24.83.42.49
Xaluca Dades

Centre De Boumalen 0524.83.00.60
La Jeanne

Douar Slilou Boumalen Dades Tinghir 05.24.83.00.72
Barraoui

Ville De Tinghir 05.24.83.51.80

Découvrez le guide de la région Draa Tafilalet

Visit Draa Tafilalet Logo Supported by ONMT Région Draa Région Ouarzazate

Liens rapides

Newsletter

Restez informés de l'actualité touristique à Drâa Tafilalet

Copyright 2024 Ce site est géré par Le Conseil Régional du Tourisme Draa Tafilalet